Halong Bay or Bai Tu Long Bay?

All overnight cruises have to follow either route to Bai Tu Long Bay or Halong Bay approved by the authority. Hereunder is some information with map of the 2 options.

Halong Bay

Located in the northeast of Vietnam, in Quang Ninh Province, Halong Bay covers an area of 1,553 square km, including 1,969 islands. Halong’s islands are concentrated in 2 main areas – in the northeast (Bai Tu Long Bay) and the southwest (Halong Bay center). Halong is internationally famous, twice recognized as a World Natural Heritage Site by UNESCO, for the majestic beauty of the dense rocks and islands, and the natural caves.

Halong Bay

Halong Bay was formed by millions of years of geological changes, which created thousands of islands. Hidden inside these are beautiful caverns such as Sung Sot, Thien Cung, Trinh Nu and Thien Canh Son Caves, and Thien Cung Grotto.

Recognized by UNESCO as a World Natural Heritage site for its biodiversity, geology and nature, Halong Bay’s beauty and charm make it an outstanding tourism destination. The landscape of Halong is attractive in each season.

Bai Tu Long Bay

While Halong Bay radiates the beauty of a gorgeous and dazzling woman, Bai Tu Long Bay is more of like a pure, enchanting young girl with its untouched mountains, beaches, and parks. The bay has a rich biodiversity with two ecosystems: a tropical, moist, evergreen rainforest ecosystem; and a marine and coastal ecosystem.

Halong Bay

Due to its geographical position, located in the east of Halong Bay, quite far from Cat Ba island, Bai Tu Long Bay is almost forgotten by visitors. Therefore, it is so pristine and unpolluted, a “must-see” place for travelers who prefer wild nature. In 2006, Bai Tu Long Bay has been found in the top 5 greatest tourist destinations in Southeast Asia, according to a poll hosted by the eco-tourism company Gecko Travel (UK).


Tripadvisor Reviews 9.8 out of 10 based on 796 votes.